Mahurangi park protects three peninsulas at the mouth of the historic and picturesque Mahurangi Harbour. Mahurangi spans across the Puhoi River, north of Wenderholm, and along Te Muri Beach to Sullivans Bay and Mita Bay.
Casual group size limit for Mahurangi Regional Park is 75
||Open 24 hours
|Summer gate opening hours:
6:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. (Daylight savings)
|Winter gate opening hours:
6:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. (Non daylight savings)
|Distance from CBD:
Mahurangi East has no road access. Access is by boat only.
How to get to Mahurangi
Pysical Address: 190 Ngarewa Drive, Mahurangi West
Mahurangi West: Drive north on State Highway 1. About 6km past Wenderholm Regional Park, turn right into Mahurangi West Road then right into Ngarewa Drive and follow to the end of the road. Scott point: Take State Highway 1 to Warkworth and follow the signs to Snells Beach. Approximately 1km past Snells Beach, turn right into Ridge Road and follow to the end of the road.
View larger map
Māori lived here in large communities. The park was the ancestral domain of Ngäti Rongo and there are four fortified pa sites at Opahi, Cudlip and Te Muri Points and above Sullivan’s Bay.
A sea captain, John Sullivan, married Merehai Kaipuke and settled at Otarawao (Sullivan’s Bay) in the 1870s. Their descendents farmed the land for nearly a century and farming continues on the park today.
More than 100 Māori and European settlers are buried in the Te Muri urupā (cemetery) on the park. The urupā was established in the 1860s alongside two sacred (tapu) pōhutukawa trees.
Scott Homestead, at Scott Point, is a reminder of the Mahurangi Harbour’s busy past as a hub of timber milling, ship building, firewood cutting and trade. Thomas Scott Jr built the Georgian style house in 1877 on the site where his father,a shipbuilder, ran an inn until it was destroyed by fire. Volunteers have lovingly restored the house and its surrounds.