About Whatipu Lodge
Whatipu Lodge is nestled against the steep hills at the back of the beach flats, has provided accommodation for sightseers for nearly a century. The lodge is actually a collection of buildings managed privately.
Whatipu Lodge, nestled against the steep hills at the back of the beach flats, has provided accommodation for sightseers for nearly a century. The 'Lodge' is actually a collection of buildings. The oldest of these is the Gibbons homestead, with its characteristic steep-pitched roof. It was built in about 1867 during the days of timber milling, by mill manager Nicholas Gibbons. At this time the shoreline was more than a kilometre closer than its present location.
As supplies of accessible timber became depleted, the Gibbons family turned to providing accommodation for tourists to supplement their income. In 1910, two new accommodation blocks and a kitchen/dining room were added. The old post office and wharf shed that once sat on a wharf alongside Paratutai Island was shifted to add to the complex.
Another early building that forms part of Whatipu Lodge was once a dairy, where milk and cream were kept and made into butter and cheese. Later, road access was built to Whatipu and during the 1930s and 40s further developments included the addition of a tennis court, billiard table, and further accommodation at the Lodge.
Today, Whatipu Lodge remains a significant part of the cultural history of the Waitakere Ranges. The Lodge is operated under lease from the Auckland Regional Council, and with its charm and sense of history it continues to be popular retreat for Aucklanders.
Please note Whatipu Lodge runs on an alternative energy system and does not have mains power, so there are no washing machines, freezers or microwaves.
Travel on a gravel surface, 20min from Little Huia to the end of Whatipu Road. The lodge is adjacent to the carpark at the end of Whatipu Road.
View larger map